Living

Count on Us

us

I had a conversation recently with one of my great friend and he told me something that he went through during high school that shocked me. It was a conversation that was random but he texted me telling me this life changing news and I was happy he finally told someone but it also made me upset because I wish he had told me during high school so that we could have worked through the problem together. But that’s when he said to me “I didn’t say anything because we all just to be okay.” That got me thinking, why is it that we are scared of letting people in, letting our friends know our problem, getting help? We have so much pride that we put up walls so that others think that we are happy perfect people but we aren’t, none of us. We just all want to seem perfect so we shut people out in the issues where we need them the most. Then he said to me “We think what we do is harmless…like so what if I want to look like this. Like I get what I want in life my way you do it yours.” Of course he meant this as what he used to think before he told people. But isn’t that what most of us think with our problems, that we will deal with whatever we are going through the way we want. The part that got me most in this message was the word “harmless” because truth is we don’t see what damage something we do can do to us physically, emotionally, and spiritually. How “harmless” we think our actions are but we never truly see until the end when we are recovering or have recovered and we look back and say wow I could’ve really hurt myself. Then turned to him and said “It feels good to say that stuff out loud because we find out that the people sitting right next to us have been or are going through the same thing.” And it’s true, after we tell our problems to people we know and trust we find out that that that at one of those people are going or have gone through the same thing or something similar. They can offer a helping hand and make whatever we are going through a little easier. It also builds up a courage in us, one that even though we had to fight our pride to get to but we get. It takes tremendous courage in itself to ask for help, and that important to remember that. Asking for help is courageous not pathetic.

The Lord does not want us to be alone in our adversities. He on top of always being here for us He also put people on earth for used to talk to, and we have to remember that. He gave us friends and family people we could talk to. People we can open up to and tell them our problems. I told my friend on the phone that we never know what happened to other people until we talked them and we never know what kind of help the other people can give us.

Two are better than one, because they have a good return for their work:  If one falls down, his friend can help him up. But pity the man who falls and has no one to help him up!(Ecclesiastes 4:9-10)

With that being said we also have to remember, we are here to build each other up, and pick each other up in the times of difficulty. The things we have been through in life no matter how small we think it is could help a friend with a problem that could be life changing. So just like we need to build up the courage everyday to ask for help during our adversities we also need to have courage everyday to give help, to ask our friends in they are okay or if they are needing anything because sometimes the courage someone need to tell is in the asking of a friend. Be the encouragement that a friends need to get through their problems.

Therefore encourage one another and build one another up, just as you are doing.(1 Thessalonians 5:11)

Leave a Reply

