Living

Christians Loving Christ Like Surfers Love The Surf

surf

For the last year I have found myself becoming more interested in the sport of surfing. I have always liked it but I have been more interested in getting to know the surfers and their life style along with the way the sport works. I have a huge respect for surfers after I have been getting to know more about why they surf. I found the way that almost all surfers look at surfing to be beautiful. It made me think about my life as a Christian. And I found that many attributes of surfers I want and need to have toward Christ as a Christian.

  1. Dedication:

Surfers are probably the most dedicated people that I have ever seen, especially competitive surfers. I remember hearing the announcers during a competition talking about one competitor, whom I cannot remember at this time, but they talked about when he was in the junior pro and in high school for some competitions if they were in the U.S that he’s mom would go in the morning to sign him in and right after school he would get on a flight and fly down to compete. And before theses surfers get to the competitive tours they spend countless hours training and giving so much of themselves and time to become better. That is how we should be. Loving God so much that we strive and give our time to spend to become closer to Him. And not giving up on walking with and in Him because it hard or taking to long to get to the promises He has told us which we are working toward.

You need to persevere so that when you have done the will of God, you will receive what he has promise -Hebrews 10:36

  1. Not giving up:

Which brings me to my second thing. I was watching the movie Storm Surfers when I thought about this. In this movie Tom Carroll was surfing Turtle Dove and slipped off the board and fell into the water and stayed under a long time to which he said “Heaviest moment I’ve ever had” but a few minutes later he changes his vest and got back out there. And he says, “I just knew, well, I wanted to get back out there and ride another one. I wasn’t to, uh , stop at that.” When I see that I think about in a Christian lifestyle we should not give up when hard times come and it feels like our “heaviest moments” of life. Because just like Tom when he put on his other vest and had an amazing ride when we get up from our hard times and decide to get back on what God has for us we will experience amazing things from Him.

I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus. -Phillippians 3:14

  1. Taking To The World:

While watching the movie The Endless Summer there is a part when Robert August and Mike Hynson got to Accra, Ghana. When they got there the people had never seen a surfboard before so when the boys began surfing the village people gathered around. Soon they wanted to learn so Mike and Robert began to teach them and letting them practice. By the time Mike and Robert were getting ready to leave the village boys, who earlier that day had never even heard of surfing, were tearing the wood off their roofs to have something that was kind of like a surfboard. Now think about that as Christians. When we go to other places and just by people looking at us and seeing how we are and what we do the people want to know what it is we are doing or what we have. And at that point we start to share Jesus with this person or these people who might have never heard of Jesus. Show them how to walk with God so that by the time we leave that place the people or person wants to keep walking in Christ themselves.

And he said to them, “Go into all the world and proclaim the gospel to the whole creation. -Mark 16:15

  1. Be Childlike:

Over the years many people look at surfers as these people who are children and don’t want to grow up. Where they are always happy and joyful and they aren’t afraid of making for lack for better word a fool of themselves to other people. But when I look at surfers I don’t see childish people I see people who are childlike. People who have the knowledge and wisdom of adults because they are adults and use that knowledge in everyday life. But they don’t let the fact that they are adult get in the way of life they don’t let the stresses that are suppose to come with being an adult over take or their lives. They aren’t consumed and let adulthood take their joy.

and said, “Truly, I say to you, unless you turn and become like children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven. -Matthew 18:3

All these things might not be everything but they are the things I thought about and think about every time I see a competition or watch a movie. Things that I have found that if I start (and I am trying to get the momentum of them) in my life toward Christ that my christian life will start to become closer to God, and I will become happier with my life with Christ.

Leave a Reply

