Christian Living · Just Thinking · My Journey

We Didn’t Make Him, He Laid It Down

We Didn't Make Him

I was reading the other day and while reading John 10:17-18 I got this beautiful realization.

For this reason the Father loves me, because I lay down my life that I may take it up again. No one takes it from me, but I lay it down of my own accord. I have authority to lay it down, and I have authority to take it up again. This charge I have received from my Father.- John 10:17-18

 

I have heard about Jesus coming down to save us in different ways and some were very similar while growing up Christian. But one that I guess I heard so much that I just stuck with was in the line of “Because of our sin we made Jesus come down to save the world”. And I since have been learning a lot (I mean I’m bible school I should be learning more about the bible right) but the realization of how wrong I had been thinking didn’t hit me until I really read these verses, I thought that it was all the same.

Yes Jesus came down for us but we didn’t make Him do anything, He came down because He wanted to. By saying that because we sin we made him come down is say the exact opposite of what the bible says, because by saying that it is like we are saying that we had the authority to take Jesus’ life. And we didn’t, He gave it to us.

That hit me hard!! But it also gave me peace and filled me with joy! Because earlier in the chapter Jesus speaks about Him being the good shepherd. And He is! Because we are His sheep he laid down his life for us. His love for us had Him see our sin and say I will go down and lay myself down so they can be with me forever.

But see that is not the only beautiful apart, the other is that He rose! But you see the thing is when we act like we had the authority to have made Jesus come down we are stuck because that would mean that we would to have the authority to rise Him from the dead. And we don’t have that authority like He says in verse 18 “I have authority to lay it down, and I have authority to take it up again. This charge I have received from my Father” , only He has that authority.

Now I only say all this because I thought like this for years and there are many out there who do think like this and we don’t even know we are thinking in that way. So I propose that we start making a change to the way we think about Jesus coming down to save us. Instead of saying and making it seem like He had to because of our sin to come down. Let’s start saying that He choose to come down because of His love for us to free us and give us salvation from sin (because that’s what actually happened!).

 

Keep On Living!!

Leave a Reply

