Just Thinking

The Ultimate Friend

Unknownu2

John 15:13 Greater love has no one than this, that someone lay down his life for his friends.

Jesus is the ultimate friend.

It’s Easter weekend and thinking about the importance and joy of this weekend all week, all I could do is think about this passage. You see what gets me the most about this passage is that Jesus saw us worthy of His friendship before we even decided if we wanted to be His friend or not. The chapter goes on to say that we are His friends if we obey His command, which in He stated in verse 12,which is “This is my commandment, that you love one another as I have loved you.” And in a very Jesus manner He didn’t just tell us what to do, or tell us to do something that He wouldn’t do Himself. No, Jesus taught us real friendship by giving up His life for us first. This makes Him the ultimate friend.

This Easter Weekend (or as my pastor likes to say Miracle Weekend) my thought is this; there is no greater friend than Jesus. My heart fills with an overwhelming joy because I get to celebrate my best friend tomorrow. I get to thank Him and praise Him because He preformed the greatest act of love a friend can do before I was even His friend. When He thought of me and every single one of us He didn’t see a person who did wrong but He saw His friend who He loved so deeply and greatly that He wanted to lay down His life to save, so that when we came to understand why He died we would see that it was the love He had for us, and even if we didn’t see ourselves as His friends yet He already proved to us that He is ours.

But the most important thing is that not only did He lay down His life for the love of His friends but He then rose from the dead!! He not only saved our lives by dying but He came back so that when we saw and truly understood this act of love we could be His friends forever. Not just think about the great act He did for us but for us to have a friendship that grows with Him forever. So that we could share this love with Him for eternity.

I am so thankful for the love of my best friend! Because He saved me and am so glad that our relationship can grow everyday more and more because He lives!

Keep On Living!!

Leave a Reply

