Christian Living · Living

The “Silence”

the-silence

*Guest post*

Let’s be quite honest, emotions change every day and are not at all reliable.
You see for a long time my prayers, dreams; projects were being guided by my soul. Unfortunately, this only leads to disappointment. Part of the soul is composed of emotions.

I remember none of my plans have gone right.
I’ve always been very honest with God. At first I am very angry. (PAUSE: I’ve already had this kind of conversation with God.) “God!!! Have you not seen all my work. How can the Lord help a wicked man and not me? I go to church always, never departed from you, I try not to do anything wrong, it’s not fair to me. Where’s your justice?”
Then after a few days of anger and complaints I say: “God what you want from me then?”

Then BAAAM !!! I always imagine the following scene like this:
God / Alpha and Omega / Beginning and End looking to earth at that very moment, with a smile: “Finally she said the words, now so I can speak.”
Before I simply could not pray any more. Every time I would pray, “I listened to the silence of God” because the scream of my soul made voice of God inaudible.

In life we hear several voices. Calm down is not schizophrenia, but thoughts. We have free will to choose what we will listen and so govern our lives. We can hear the voice of our flesh, the enemy, our soul, other people, and the voice of the Spirit.

I remember when I was a kid and I went to a birthday party. I remember many things in this from this. The first thing was the amount of candy that I ate without the supervision of my parents, I do not remember having eaten any snacks, only sweets. Another thing I remember was the game we played. A super competition in which the prize was very important: a bag full of gifts for the champion. My hands were sweating, my heart was beating super strong, I really wanted to win.
However while the adult explained the rules a few things distracted me. I could not hear anything with the noise, the conversations around me, the music playing, and my own nervousness, that seemed audible. I did not win the prize, because I did not focus on the right voice.

When we let other voices take away our attention we not reach the prize. We become frustrated. But when we hear the right voice, the voice of the Spirit, we know the direction and the instructions we must follow to “win the prize.”

Paul tells us that the Spirit must guide us

For as many as are led by the Spirit of God, these are sons of God. – Romans 8:14

We have to die to ourselves and live in the Spirit.

God always has the best reserved for us. His will is good, perfect and pleasing (1 Cor 2: 9) Let’s be honest, we think too small by themselves, we do not take risks and get frustrated easily because after all we (as humans) usually depend on our emotions to dictate what we want.

Dying to ourselves and saying no to the voice of our soul is simply putting the mute button on us and listening to and walking after the Spirit.

Thereis therefore now no condemnation to those who are in Christ Jesus, who do not walk according to the flesh, but according to the Spirit. – Romans 8: 1

About:
mayars

Mayara Marcelli is a wonderful brazilian blogger, living in the United States to finish her schooling to become a minister.

https://estacoesdavidasite.wordpress.com

 

 

 

One thought on “The “Silence”

Leave a Reply

