Christian Living · My Journey

Be Careful What You Wish For

careful

“Open the eyes of my heart”
“I’ll do anything for You”
and my personal favorite
“Break my heart for what breaks Yours”

Some of the most beautiful and dangerous words a person can say.

You see, we sometimes don’t understand the value of our word. We seem to forget that our words have power.

They can be deadly or beautiful

“From the fruit of a man’s mouth his stomach is satisfied; he is satisfied by the yield of his lips. Death and life are in the power of the tongue, and those who love it will eat its fruits.” Proverbs 18:20-21

We don’t realize that what we say will come true.
So we shouldn’t say anything we don’t mean to say.

I know it sounds like I’m saying that these phrases above are the same as someone saying “I’m always going to be poor” or “I hate you” but I’m not.

What I am saying is that when we say things especially good things like the phrases above we have to understand that God takes the words that come out of your mouth seriously. And even though we should totally absolutely be saying these words to the Lord we shouldn’t be saying them because the pastor said to or because we know all the all the words to the worship song like a routine.

Again I say, we should be saying these things to the Lord but we need to know that when we do don’t take them lightly; mean it! With your whole heart but also keep them there, knowing that the Lord one day will do them for you.

Story time:

Earlier this year I told the Lord the words “Break my heart for what breaks Your.” And I meant it, but I didn’t realize how powerful those words are.
So this weekend (well this month really) there are certain things that I have been made aware of (mostly because I’m an RA) that have made me overwhelming sad. And I didn’t know why because honestly before they bothered me but not to that extent, until last night.
I just wanted to cry all day long yesterday and it was frustrating and confusing, which made me even more upset and angry. Then I went to the worship night here at school. And I asked “God, why?” and He said to me “ you told me to break your heart for what breaks mine, this is the an area I am calling you to and this is how it makes me feel.”

Mind Blown!

I was shocked at the beauty of this and still upset honestly.
I was still upset because I honestly never wanted to get involved in the area the Lord has made me feel for. Also because it was crazy scary to think that I was only feeling what the Lord felt for about three or four situations here and I was so overwhelmingly upset that honestly it was depressing, but the Lord feels for everyone in the whole world, not just for the area He made me aware of but for every area, every situation.
But the beauty of it was shocking because I also got another glimpse of how amazing God is. Because He should be more upset then I was because of all of it but He isn’t because He physically can’t.

You see God Is joy, kind, good, patience, peace, self-control, gentle, and faithful

“But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, patience, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness, self-control; against such things there is no law”– Galatians 5:22-23

But most importantly God Is love.

“So we have come to know and to believe the love that God has for us. God is love, and whoever abides in love abides in God, and God abides in him.” 1 John 4:16

And so because of this He cannot become overwhelmed by the fact to He gets sad that all these things that are happening. That is so beautiful to me that God can only express to us what He is not what He feels and that is why He Is God.

That blew my mind!

I told this story because as all of this was happening last night the Lord reminded me “be careful what you wish for” but He didn’t mean it in a bad way. Because after He told me this and all I could say was “okay I get it. No more please, take it away it! I don’t want to it, it is to hard and to overwhelming.” He turned to me and said (well He used a lady at the worship night to me) “I am pouring my love on you. And I see you, I know you are hungry for me and I see you.” And at first I thought this is out of context, but it wasn’t.
You see I had been crying all day and obviously more when the Lord revealed all this stuff to me. And when the love of the Lord came over me I started to stop because I felt love and I wasn’t overwhelming upset anymore. Just like God doesn’t get overwhelmed because He Is love. And when He said that He saw me it was because I was telling Him to take what He was giving me away because it was to hard but He was telling me that He saw it and even though it was hard it really is what I want, and He was going to make it okay.

Now I know this is a super long post so to end it…
Be careful what you wish for not so you can not say things but because if you don’t keep it in mind when it comes to you, you won’t know what it is and you won’t know how to deal with it.
But when it comes to the Lord it is so worth it. (I mean I obviously should have thought of this advice long ago but I wouldn’t change having said theses things for the world!!)

 

Keep On Living!!

Leave a Reply

