My Journey

New Year, New State!

new-year

New year, new me!
Probably the phrase of the moment today!!
Well for me it’s a little different because I’m moving!
Moving back to New Jersey!!

Why? Well it is simple really,
The Lord told me it was time for me to fly.

I have spent the last year and a half learning how to truly listen to the voice of God, and but I’m pretty sure I know when He tells me something now. Usually, because it’s something I would never tell myself. Example, “Go back to New Jersey to stay.” If I could completely honest for a second, I would never say that to myself without a huge feeling of sadness and anxiety, because the truth is I tried to run away from New Jersey for a most of my life, I hated it (I mean I’m no Jersey girl). But, when the Lord told me to do it I felt nothing but an overwhelming unexplainable peace and happiness.

So I said yes.

That was the hardest thing I have ever done. Because even with the overwhelming, unexplainable peace and joy that came when I decided to say yes, it was all faster than I imagined it would be. In five days I had to tell the dean and assistant dean of women I was leaving, which meant I had to drop out of the RA ministry for next semester, I had to tell all the amazing friends I made I was leaving, and I had to pack up my whole life into two suitcases (that obviously did not happen, I still have some stuff left over to pick up). And it was all great until the day people started moving into my room and it hit me. That was when the Lord brought this verse to my mind.

Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding.

– Proverbs 3:5

He reminded me that things do not go the way I imagine they will and the way I plan because if they did they would be horrible. Like the plans I was making when He first told me, I see now that they were not the most reasonable or realistic.
The reality is in order for me, specifically, or any Christian to really be able to do what God has for them or and walk out the promises He has told us we need to stop planning what He is in charge of. We need to give Him the control and just roll with whatever He says, because just like Isaiah 55:8-9 says “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, declares the Lord. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts”

Moving back to New Jersey is pure trust and faith in the Lord. Because I after I roll my last bag from the airport into my house I have no idea what I am going to do here. But I know that the Lord will start to show me and make things happen as time goes on. But for now, all I know is that I know that He told me to do this, and that is all God needs for Him to do what He wants.

 

So as we bring in the year 2017, I want to introduce my resolution for the year.

For the last two year, I have been being this thing where I only have one resolution and it is only one word (here is the link in case you want to know more about it). It’s pretty awesome you pick one word that will be the resolution for every area of your life this year instead of 10 resolutions that you never live up to.

This year my word is, trust!

What is yours?

I challenge you! Even though I know it’s already January first, I say it is never too late for change.
So take a couple of days and pray about it and the Lord will give you the word for you. Once you get it make that the only resolution you have this year and apply it to every area of your life! (Leave a comment letting me know what it is. I would love to know!!!)

I know that God is going to do amazing things in our lives this year!!

 

Happy New Year you beautiful people!!!!

Keep On Living!!

 

 

Leave a Reply

