Just Thinking · Living · My Journey

Letter To Mom

IMG_2379

Dear Silvana,

So much of your life has been devoted to me, 9 months turned into 22 years and I know that it hasn’t been easy for you. 

All those long days you worked to help make my life better. All those 5 hour drives on the weekends when I lived with my grandma so you could work even longer hours to provide for me. I appreciated ever second. No matter how much money we had or the lack of it. You were my mom and I loved you. 

I know that through my teenage I wasn’t the easiest person to get along with. I guess that’s what we both get from me inheriting the “I’m independent” trait from you. I always thought your tactics were a little crazy but you were just trying to protect me from the bad in the world as much as you could. But even through all the fights, the tears, and the dramatic “I hate you” moments I still actually loved you because you were my mom. 

Now I’m 22 and you are 46. I’ve left and returned to the house and I have to say, I still don’t understand you and agree with everything you say but I see your side of life a little better. I see why you are you. You still work hard to support me while I pursue the dreams God has placed on my heart. You still devote your life to me(and the other two lives you bore). And you are still my mom. 

You brought me up in the ways of truth and righteousness. You taught me to love the Lord. You taught me to stand up for myself. You show me every day that it is with perseverance and hard word and trust that we will get to the end. I know you might not feel it sometimes but you are strong. I know you might not see it sometimes but you are beautiful. I know you might not feel it sometimes but you are worthy. I know I might be hard to believe sometimes but you are loved. And I know I might now show it sometimes but I admire you! There is no one else in the world who I wish to have been my mother. 

With a lot of love,
Brenda  

 

What do you want to say to your mom that you can’t put in words?

Strength and dignity are her clothing,
and she laughs at the time to come.
-Proverbs 31:25

 

Keep On Living!!!

Leave a Reply

